Castle Quilt

12 07 2014

Untitled

I fell in love with the Sand Castles pattern the moment I saw it. At the time I’d only made one quilt but I impulsively bought the pattern and two different sets of fabrics to make it one day. It all sat in the stash awaiting the moment I was brave enough to attempt it.

In February we learned we were expecting another girl and I was struck with inspiration. I had fallen in love with the Once Upon a Time collection by Alexander Henry and decided I wanted to design the girls’ room around it. It was also the motivation to start the quilt.

It was definitely a challenge. I hit a road block early on when the castle turrets were not fitting properly on the towers. I ripped and resewed and remeasured the pieces several times before it occurred to me to make sure that the templates I had printed and cut from measured correctly. (spoiler: they didn’t). So I had to recut all those pieces. Luckily I am a chronic over buyer of craft supplies. Once I got a few blocks done though it was just a matter of doing the same thing again and again and I got pretty proficient. Eventually I was able to sew a block in about an hour.

Untitled

I don’t know why but I was expecting the quilt to be smaller. I say I don’t know why because it came out pretty close to the measurements listed on the pattern but I am apparently not very good at visualizing what measurements mean. So instead of being roughly a twin size quilt it’s more of a double. Not a bad thing certainly but it did make it more of a challenge to quilt.

This is only the second quilt I’ve made so I went simple with the quilting. I stitched in the ditch around each block and did diagonal lines over the whole quilt.

IMG_4272

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

